top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

Waldorf's First Days

Last Updated 12/16/2017


Sunseeker 2016 MBS by Forest River

24 feet,


It is a little hard for me to say exactly where the idea to buy a motorhome came from, but for sure, Nancy had a clear concept. I thought a 30 foot travel trailer or 5th wheel would be the deal. My brother Vic advised me on a selection, as we talked the TT got bigger and the pickup sprouted more wheels. I assumed we would park the trailer and drive the giant pickup any where we needed. I guess Nancy never saw it that way. She had traveled years before for a short time in a small motorhome and knew their virtues. I was just learning.

We went to the Puyallup RV show May 7 2016. That year was spent looking at motorhomes. 2015 was my year and we walked through dozens of travel trailers and 5th wheels, however I could tell Nancy was not feeling it......

It was late in the afternoon 5/7/16 in one of the pavilions where we came across the smaller MHs, 38 feet and under. We didn't like any of them built on the Ford chassis because of the truck cab passenger foot room (lack of). I was happy to spot a small Forest River MH on a Mercedes chassis and it was diesel. Perfect.

When we walked in it felt open and bright, with the slide open. Nice place we thought. I grilled the sales guys on features and it all started coming together. I had no idea $96K would be just the beginning......

We headed home with the propaganda for the 24' MSB WS. It looked good, but the hang up was the dealer (at the show) the reputation was just not there. Further research identified Paulsbo RV in Auburn. We made the call to meet with John the next day.

Sunday we were excited, the test drive and exploration was fun. You might be saying WOW that was quick. Now, we think so too, but I knew it was right for Nancy and I liked what I had learned about the features. So I offered $6K less than the "show price" we had heard the day before. Apparently that was not low enough - they took the deal right away.

See photo below - !


The two happy owners Nancy & Don

Waldorf's birthday is 5/8/2016



Who drives first?


Nancy has dibs.

















No doubt.


What's Inside



With the slide out in.

Very important, we can get to the refrigerator and the bathroom with the slide out in. Great for snacks, driving and a quick rest stop by the side of the road.














The passenger side seating in the Mercedes Benz cab is expansive. In our travels since day 1 we have really appreciated the well laid out cab and room for all kinds of things up front.







Our first campsites were at Martha and Tony's house in Fife WA. They had a wonderful rental place with plenty of parking space. Waldorf found a home there. Nancy and I were happy to spend time with M&T and learn about the MH in a simple and stress free situation. Their place even had a dump spot.




Simple camping in the side yard even included a fire pit.




No worries learning the systems, we could always run into the house to use the bathroom or shower. We even had donut delivery.


Camping stress free in the front yard. I can't think of a better or more fun way to learn all the new motorhome systems.




M&T even had a little TT for Waldorf to make friends with.








Stress free


Beautiful sunsets over Tacoma WA in June 2016.


I think we camped in the yard 4 times before venturing out into the real world, 3 miles away, at Salt Water State Park.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1dqU5bsAw4-XbR5vHer-i1gUKHpFi7MCJ&usp=sharing



bottom of page